So instead of the gym I decided to go to the park down the street and walk for a little bit. I also couldn't go to the gym because we had to take Chris' truck to the shop and he had to take mine golfing. Anyways, this trail was called Bear Alley Fitness Trail. While it's a cute name, I knew it wasn't a real 'bear alley.' Okay so maybe I was little paranoid while I was walking by myself. I ended up passing some fresh bear poop about 10 minutes into the walk. That was a little weird. But I kept going. So here are some pics I took while walking. Most of them are from a creek near the trail. Pretty cute. Enjoy
Friday, July 27, 2012
Monday, July 2, 2012
Alaska Scottish Highland Games
Our first event in Alaska was the Scottish Highland Games. Unfortunately, for us anyways, it wasn't as exciting as we thought. The Scottish bands that played were awesome. Some of the games were good but we got bored quick. There was about 20 booths altogether and most them were food. For us, it just didn't do anything. We did get a sweet shirt. Here are some pics I took....
Saturday, June 23, 2012
This base....
Is awesome! I love it. Sorry Tinker but you suck. You can fish, ski and camp on the base. It's got about 4 lakes on the base. It's so awesome!!!!! Chris and I plan on getting our fishing license and fish this base up! Sorry dad ;(. Here are some pics I took today...
Friday, June 22, 2012
Second base
Well looks like we will be living on base this time. $1200 for a 800 sq ft 2 bedroom apartment isn't very appealling. So we've decided to stay on base. Not a huge deal, we just won't get the extra $300 or $400 we wanted. We don't know anyone that isn't in the military, so getting people on base won't be a hassle. Apparently the housing on base here is reallllllly nice. I'll have pictures up as soon as we get approved and get into a house. Thanks for your patience!!!! Miss you!!!!
Friday, June 15, 2012
Wyoming.....
Yesterday was a better day. Got alot of driving done. We are in Gillette, Wyoming at the moment. Only thing exciting that happened was the land got hillier. It felt like we were the only ones in Wyoming for awhile, because there wasn't anyone else on the road and all we saw were cows.
The pictures I'm posting are random. Their wasn't alot to look at on the road. The prettier pictures are Wyoming.
Btw...Wall Drug is a tourist trap. Not what I expected it to be. It's huge but it's got 5 rooms with the same stupid gas station collectables in it. Stop and see it but don't stay too long or you'll be trapped.
The pictures I'm posting are random. Their wasn't alot to look at on the road. The prettier pictures are Wyoming.
Btw...Wall Drug is a tourist trap. Not what I expected it to be. It's huge but it's got 5 rooms with the same stupid gas station collectables in it. Stop and see it but don't stay too long or you'll be trapped.
Thursday, June 14, 2012
Church Station
I know the titles weird but it's legit. We made a stop in South Dakota at a rest stop an found a little church. From the road it looked really small. And it is small but I was thinking midget small, no offense. It was just way off to the side rest area. Ive never seen something like this.
It doesn't surprise me though. We've seen multiple signs that say "Jesus..." and a couple that bash abortion. Bible belt is tighter up here.
Well we are on our way to Sheridan Wyoming for the night. We are stopping at a place called "Wall's Drug Store.". We've being seeing a whole bunch of signs and we are 200 miles away from it. So it better be awesome and have cool shirts!
I love shirts....
It doesn't surprise me though. We've seen multiple signs that say "Jesus..." and a couple that bash abortion. Bible belt is tighter up here.
Well we are on our way to Sheridan Wyoming for the night. We are stopping at a place called "Wall's Drug Store.". We've being seeing a whole bunch of signs and we are 200 miles away from it. So it better be awesome and have cool shirts!
I love shirts....
Whoops!
So yesterday was not the awesome first day it was suppose to be. We were going through Kansas and got a speeding ticket in Wichita. That isn't even the half of it. After that we stopped for food. For some reason I thought to look for my passport. And good thing I did because I LOST IT!!!!!!! Yeah, I lost it. I had a panic attack. We looked for an hour. No where! So we tried coming up with different ways to get to me to Alaska without going through Canada. So we stopped over night in Nebraska.
...Before I go on, I just wanna say and I mean no disrespect to people from Kansas, but going through that stat sucked. It sucked hard. I know that's mean but it did. I've seen enough farms to last till my grandchildren. Just saying...
Anyways, so after an overnighter in Columbus, Nebraska we woke up and started trying to figure out a plan. Some ideas....
Chris idea- fly me to MD and have his parents fly me to AK when he got there.
Jessy idea- fly me to AK and stay on base till Chris gets there.
Katie idea- drive to Seattle and take a ferry to AK.
What is actually happening....
Chris called assignments back at Tinker and they said I could get through Canada with just Chris' orders and my military id. So are driving direction has changed. We are going to Seattle and the driving up, because of that lady at assignments was wrong I can just fly to Anchorage and I wouldn't have to have wait for Chris as long.
Interesting first day huh? I'm glad it's over. I am definitely grounded for awhile lol. I'm sure Chris won't let me forget this. Im glad it's funny now because yesterday I was complete mess. I don't have any pictures because I figured everyone had seen a farm before and if u haven't just google farm.
Hopefully our new route will give me something to take a picture of. Pry I get into Canada. Love you guys!!!
...Before I go on, I just wanna say and I mean no disrespect to people from Kansas, but going through that stat sucked. It sucked hard. I know that's mean but it did. I've seen enough farms to last till my grandchildren. Just saying...
Anyways, so after an overnighter in Columbus, Nebraska we woke up and started trying to figure out a plan. Some ideas....
Chris idea- fly me to MD and have his parents fly me to AK when he got there.
Jessy idea- fly me to AK and stay on base till Chris gets there.
Katie idea- drive to Seattle and take a ferry to AK.
What is actually happening....
Chris called assignments back at Tinker and they said I could get through Canada with just Chris' orders and my military id. So are driving direction has changed. We are going to Seattle and the driving up, because of that lady at assignments was wrong I can just fly to Anchorage and I wouldn't have to have wait for Chris as long.
Interesting first day huh? I'm glad it's over. I am definitely grounded for awhile lol. I'm sure Chris won't let me forget this. Im glad it's funny now because yesterday I was complete mess. I don't have any pictures because I figured everyone had seen a farm before and if u haven't just google farm.
Hopefully our new route will give me something to take a picture of. Pry I get into Canada. Love you guys!!!
Wednesday, June 13, 2012
On the road again....
Well it's time. We are leaving today. I'm so excited I can't stand it. I'm going to miss everyone here but I can't wait to be in Anchorage. It's a new adventure with the love of my life. It's going to be amazing. I love everyone of my friends, no matter how much we talk or see each other. I'll be posting again tonight when we make our first stop. Can't wait!!!!! Miss all of you!!!!!!!
Thursday, April 26, 2012
Are we there yet?!
I've never thought about starting a blog. I thought people who lead interesting lives started blogs. We will be venturing out soon for the Last Frontier....Alaska. I'm really excited! Already know the route we're taking, when we should stop to rest, and we are going to stop stay the night. I mentioned we were driving right? Yeah, we're driving. It's only 3,712 miles! I just gotta get through the last two weeks of school, a wedding, and some packing in the mix. Hopefully I'll have to pack :). I hope everyone enjoys this, please bear with me, this my first blog!!!! xoxoxo
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)



















